United Nations A/HRC/RES/34/36



Distr.: General 7 April 2017

Original: English

Human Rights Council Thirty-fourth session

27 February–24 March 2017 Agenda item 9

Resolution adopted by the Human Rights Council on 24 March 2017

34/36. Elaboration of complementary standards to the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination

The Human Rights Council,

Recalling General Assembly resolution 56/266 of 27 March 2002, in which the Assembly endorsed the Durban Declaration and Programme of Action,

Recalling also all its previous resolutions on the elaboration of complementary standards to the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination.

Recalling further relevant General Assembly resolutions, in particular Assembly resolution 71/181 of 19 December 2016,

Recalling in the above context paragraph 5 of General Assembly resolution 71/181,

- 1. Decides to implement the request of General Assembly contained in its resolution 71/181 by requesting the Chair-Rapporteur of the Ad Hoc Committee of the Human Rights Council on the Elaboration of Complementary Standards to the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination to ensure the commencement of the negotiations on the draft additional protocol to the Convention criminalizing acts of a racist and xenophobic nature during the tenth session of the Ad Hoc Committee;
 - 2. Also decides to remain seized of this priority matter.

58th meeting 24 March 2017

[Adopted by a recorded vote of 31 to 4, with 12 abstentions. The voting was as follows:

In favour:

Bangladesh, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, China, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Ghana, Indonesia, Iraq, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Nigeria, Panama,

GE.17-05669(E)





Paraguay, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Togo, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

Against:

Germany, Switzerland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America

Abstaining:

Albania, Belgium, Croatia, Georgia, Hungary, India, Japan, Latvia, Netherlands, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Slovenia]

2