About Human Rights Voices: Who We Are


ANNE BAYEFSKY, Senior Editor

Anne Bayefsky is a Professor and Director of the Touro Institute on Human Rights and the Holocaust. She has taught at York University, the University of Ottawa Law Faculty, and Columbia University Law School. She has served with the Canadian delegation to the UN General Assembly in 1984 and 1989, and the Commission on Human Rights from 1993 to 1997. She also served on a number of delegations to the 1993 Vienna World Conference on Human Rights, the 1995 Beijing World Conference on Women and the 2001 Durban Racism Conference. She was a member of the External Research Advisory Committee of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees from 1996-1998, and a member of the Advisory Panel of UNDP on the UN Development Report for 2000. From 1998 to 2001 she worked in collaboration with the Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights on a review of the UN human rights treaty system, authoring a major report on the reform of the treaty system in 2001. She is a member of the International Law Association Committee on Human Rights Law and Practice, and Editor-in-Chief of the series "Refugees and Human Rights", published by Brill. She holds a B.A., M.A. and LL.B. from the University of Toronto, an M.Litt. from Oxford University, and is a barrister and solicitor of the Ontario Bar.


Prior to working at Human Rights Voices, Sarah Willig Idell was an associate at a New York law firm, where she worked on a variety of civil litigation and real estate matters. She previously clerked for the Honorable Lisa Chrystal, J.S.C., of the New Jersey Superior Court, Union Vicinage. She graduated magna cum laude from Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law with a concentration in international law. While at Cardozo, she served as an Associate Editor of Cardozo Law Review and was a Dean's Distinguished Scholar. She is admitted to the New York and New Jersey State Bars.

Board of Governors:

Robert Immerman, President
Anne Bayefsky
Buntzie Ellis Churchill
Advisory Committee:

Simon Deng
Victor D. Hanson
Zuhdi Jasser
Michael Mukasey
Claudine Revere
Alvin Rosenfeld
Nina Rosenwald
Shelby Steele
Elie Wiesel, ע״ה
Ruth Wisse